Maryland ‘Anti-NDAA’ Bill to Have Committee Hearing This Week

Maryland ‘Anti-NDAA’ Bill to Have Committee Hearing This Week

 

 

On Feb. 21, Maryland’s “anti-NDAA” bill is scheduled to be heard by the Health and Government Operations Committee where a vote will decide whether or not the bill will survive to reach the floor of the State House.

The bill, H.B. 0558, was introduced at the end of last month and declares that citizens cannot be detained indefinitely without charge or trial as the 2012 NDAA authorizes. It reinforces the barrier between kidnapping and arrest and reaffirms the constitutional right to a trial by a jury of one’s peers.

Furthermore, the Maryland bill focuses on preventing any state aid in the detention of U.S. citizens under the 2012 NDAA § 1021 and 1022.

The further progress of this bill hinges on passing the committee hearing.

Supporters in Maryland are urged to call and email the committee members before the hearing and ask them to vote “yes,” as well as physically show up to the hearing, which is open to the public.

Out-of-state supporters are also urged to contact members of the committee, without mentioning the state they are calling/emailing from.

The hearing starts at 1 p.m. and will be held in Room 240 of the House Office Building of the state capitol in Annapolis, Md.

Call… Email… Testify!

Committee Members

Email

Phone No.

Del. Peter Hammen (D) (Chair)

peter.hammen@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3772

Del. Shane Pendergrass (D) (VC)

shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3139

Del. Eric Bromwell (D)

eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3766

Del. Robert Costa (R)

bob.costa@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3551

Del. Bonnie Cullison (D)

bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3883

Del. John Donoghue (D)

john.donoghue@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3125

Del. Donald Elliott  (R)

donald.elliott@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3118

Del. William Frank (R)

william.frank@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3793

Del. James Hubbard (D)

james.hubbard@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3793

Del. A.Wade Kach (R)

a.wade.kach@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3359

Del. Kevin Kelly (D)

kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3404

Del. Nicholaus Kipke (R)

nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3421

Del. Susan Krebs (R)

susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3200

Del. Patrick McDonough (R)

pat.mcdonough@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3334

Del. Dan K. Morhaim (D)

dan.morhaim@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3054

Del. Peter Murphy (D)

peter.murphy@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3247

Del. Shirley Nathan-Pulliam (D)

shirley.nathan.pulliam@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3358

Del. Nathaniel Oaks (D)

nathaniel.oaks@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3283

Del. Joseline Pena-melnyk (D)

joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3502

Del. Justin Ready (R)

justin.ready@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3070

Del. Kirill Reznik (D)

kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3039

Del. Shawn Tarrant (D)

shawn.tarrant@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3545

Del Veronica Turner (D)

veronica.turner@house.state.md.us

(410) 841-3212